On Being Mom

The sweetest words that I could ever hear are “I love you”. Whether from my husband, my sons, my parents, my friends or my students, those three magic words give me energy. But of all of those, when my boys say “I love you, Mom,” they make my world technicolor in a way that no one else can.

You see, they don’t HAVE to love me. Of course I WANT them to love me and appreciate me, but really when it comes right down to it, love from my kids is so sweet because parenting is not always sunshine and roses. Of course we have awesome times together, but sometimes I have to be stern…I have to set rules…teach them hard lessons and set boundaries. Parenting isn’t always easy, nor is it for the faint of heart. Believe me, there is plenty of drama! BUT, loving my kids unconditionally is just me being a Mom, and even though my boys drive me crazy at times, I choose to love them. PERIOD. So when the “I love you Mom” comes freely given and with sincerity, my heart melts because I would move heaven and earth to be the best Mom I can be. My boys deserve the best I have to offer!

Guys, I love you no matter what. You make my life exciting and I am so lucky to be your mom!

20130217-234413.jpg

Leave a Reply

