Be the Bulb

As I have written before, I have a hard time thinking of myself as a leader. I’m just me. I do what I do and don’t really think about the fact that what I do and how I teach is different than some. I always keep in mind what is best educationally for my students and that’s all I can expect of myself.

After being featured in the “Building Leaders” series in School District #34 (Abbotsford), organizing Edcampkinder Abbotsford and having given a presentation to the University of Victoria’s edci515 class, I have come to realize that I am a leader and I need to embrace that.

An interesting twitter exchange with Steve Carleton, an Assistant Superintendent in my school district has encouraged me to keep leading from where I am. Here is that conversation:

Be the bulb. I think this will be my new mantra. I know I speak often of #kinderchat and the amazing potential for learning using twitter as a tool, but this is still such a new concept it will take a while for the idea to catch on with others. In the meantime, I will keep doing what I am doing and hopefully my colleagues will see by what I am practicing that there is value in what I have learned and what am trying to share.

Leave a Reply

