My Reflections on #ConnectEdCA – Part 1

I have just come home from an amazing experience and I don’t even know where to begin to process all that happened. I attended the ConnectEd Canada conference in Calgary Alberta, May 24-26, 2013. I knew I was in for a weekend that would stretch my thinking, but I didn’t realize that I would think so hard my brain would ACTUALLY PHYSICALLY HURT (it did)!

If you have read my blog before, you know that I love twitter. I like how I can put a short thought together and tweet it to keep a record of my thinking. So, of course, I tweeted out much of what I experienced over the weekend. If none of this blog post (in it’s possibly many parts) is coherent, then hopefully you will see some of the BIG IDEAS in these Storifies of my tweets and other tweets I thought were important:

Day 1 http://storify.com/MauiMickey/connectedca-day-1

Day 2 & 3 http://storify.com/MauiMickey/connectedca-days-2-3

And the Storify of tweets from the session that Amy Murray, Mardelle Sauerborn and I led:

Kindergarten as a Model For Other Grades http://storify.com/MauiMickey/the-kindergarten-classroom-as-a-model-for-other-gr

Perhaps the biggest take-away from this conference was something that we in #kinderchat have been practicing for a long time. Relationships matter. Connections matter. It’s the NAME of the conference! It was so powerful to actually have TIME to talk face to face with deep thinking, challenging, brilliant educators.

20130528-202409.jpg

Leave a Reply

