One Day At A Time

So, here I am again, blogging for the second day in a row. I knew that connecting with the #bcedbloggers would be what I needed to get me back on track. And when #kinderchat announced a blogging challenge, too, well…you get the idea. I don’t anticipate that my blogs will be anything terribly earth-shattering, philosophical or memorable, but it is putting me on the right path to being a reflective educator once again.

I had a quick twitter chat with Ian Landy this morning, as I had just read his blog and was marvelling at how he blogs every single day. That takes a huge commitment! Here is our conversation:

That very quick conversation helped me realize that getting back to blogging, and getting back to “normal” (whatever that elusive concept is) will be achieved taking life one day at a time. One step at a time.

To relate it to my Kindergarten students and their start-up each year, I am thinking about how everything we do at school must be taught in simple, small steps so that my little learners can be successful with the routines that define “how we do school”. So, too, do I need to break life down into small, manageable pieces for myself so that I can feel like “normal” might be attainable someday.

Life is still overwhelming. Shawn’s mum is still sick with cancer. BUT, the strike is over, I am back doing what I love to do and making a difference in the lives of 18 little people who now call me TEACHER. I can do this one day at a time. I can find “normal” again.

Thank you, Ian, for reminding me of that.

2 thoughts on “One Day At A Time

  1. Yay, Michelle!

    I can completely relate with much of what you have written in your post. Sometimes, to get away from those overwhelmed feelings and times, we need to find a familiar space, somewhere we, at one time, felt comfort and release. For me, that space was Twitter, Blogs, and Blogging. I have been away from much of those things for the past year. I am slowly coming back to the inspiration of the amazing people in my PLN. Slowly. Like you, it is one day at a time indeed. While things are going well for me at this time, it is important not to take that for granted and be gratefully aware every day how fortunate we are. In the process, continue to find that inspiration that will help us through those tough days.

    I am glad you are back blogging, Michelle! I am sure your #kinderchat friends are glad as well!

    Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Tia
    🙂

    • Thanks for starting the #bcedbloggers group, Tia! And thanks for asking me to be a part of it. It is exactly the gentle nudge I needed to get back on track. It’s wonderful to know that we have a whole PLN of supporters around us, isn’t it?

      🙂
      Michelle

Leave a Reply

